Latest Relationship Conversation

As you may imagine, I have a lot of talks about relationships. It kind of comes with the territory of being a campus pastor. However, my latest relational talk through me for a loop.

I was at dinner with my family and two of my nephews were there. Cody is seven years old and has a girlfriend. I don’t think that’s terribly unusual, but the more I asked him about it the weirder it got.

It turns out that Cody’s girlfriend switched schools after last year. They had been dating at the end of the school year but never exchanged phone numbers. Cody spent his summer in Texas and now they attend separate schools. Through a series of questions, I discovered that they haven’t talked since the last day of school last year but Cody still thought they were dating. He had no plans of finding her phone number nor was he concerned about seeing her. He just knew they were boyfriend and girlfriend.

That’s the type of boyfriend I want Emma to have. One that never sees her. Ever. Ever. Oh, I guess the loyalty thing is a big deal too. But, I will take that second to never seeing her.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family

Leave a Reply

