Tebow

Ok.  I’ve been thinking about this one for a little while now.  I’ve blogged in the past about how I hate McShay and Mel Kiper and don’t really see them as adequate evaluators of talent, especially when it comes to the quarterback position.  My case in points will be Cam Newton and Tim Tebow.  Which are actually great examples because Tebow wins and obviously Newton has NFL talent.

Anyways, I really wanted to get some thoughts out there on this whole Tebow ordeal that has been happening. It’s taken me a little longer to add to the debate because I just don’t get it.  I don’t understand what the fuss is about.  I don’t understand why people are down on Tebow and the Broncos and aren’t happy about what is happening.

The guy is winning football games.  Actually winning the vast majority of his football games this year.  He’s brought his team from out of the picture to a chance to win the division.  What’s the big deal?

First thought.  Some guys are just winners.  It’s what they do.  They find a way to win and they inspire those around them to win.  Tebow seems to be that guy.  He did it at Florida and he’s doing it with the Broncos.  People around him play harder because there’s something about him.

Second thought.  Who cares how you win?  So what if they run the ball more than normal.  Who cares?  Isn’t winning what matters?  Nobody complains when Peyton Manning and the Colts just throw the ball, and no one complains when Brady and the Pats do the same thing.  If they don’t throw and still win, still sounds like winning to me.

Third thought.  He’s actually not the worst throwing quarterback out there.  Some of his passes bounce to the receiver.  Some of his passes go high.  So what?  He completes winning passes.  He’s also not dealing with the best of receivers out there in Denver.

Fourth thought.  I actually heard on the radio that good receivers won’t come to Denver if he’s the quarterback.  Really?  That’s an actual argument?  If they keep winning, people will come.

Fifth thought. Tebowmania.  It’s a good thing for the NFL.  It’s a good thing for the Broncos.

Sixth thought.  I really don’t like McShay or Kiper.

Seventh thought.  Just win baby.  I’d take Tebow in Washington in a heartbeat.  Sorry Sexy Rexy.

So, if you’re one of those radio pundits or what not and you diss my boy Tebow, I’m going to turn the channel.  You’ve been given fair warning.

4 Comments

Filed under Sports

4 responses to “Tebow

  1. Kelly

    Glad you approve of my boyfriend. It will make our friendship/co-worker relationship easier.

  2. kelly, i totally forgot about that! sorry it didn’t get a mention.

  3. Brian Kelley

    Nice! All good points. Plus, Tebow is the man. I hope the Broncos get as far as possible and prove the naysayers wrong.

  4. Corrie

    I LOVE TIM TEBOW!

Leave a Reply

