Dear UVA football

Dear UVA football,

I owe you an apology. I really do. I was ready to throw in the towel before the Georgia Tech game and I was really really ready to throw it in after the NC State game.

See, here’s what happened. I came into the season optimistic about a bowl game. I really did. But then the debacle that was the Southern Miss loss after the almost epic failure of Indiana. Sadly, I had seen this show before and too quickly let my past frustrations shade my perspective. I couldn’t help but remember Gary Gallagher’s famous phrase when he called UVA money sports Relentlessly Mediocre (which yes is the inspiration for my fantasy football team name). I thought it was going to happen again.

But then, then, you brought me back. Beating Al Groh and the yellow jackets was awesome. I came back, but I was a little more skeptical. Then it really came loose. I had great seats to watch the High School game that was NCState.

That’s when I shut down. I converted to Basketball. I was ready to watch Brogden, Harris, and the boys play at the JPJ.

I’m sorry. Really, I am.

You went on a roll. You’ve won four in a row, including two in the state of Florida! I know we’ve never done that. You won on the road at Maryland and finally got over that dook hump at home.

We’ve run the ball tremendously well and had tremendous defense.

I’m back on the bandwagon. I won’t let it happen again.

I also owe a personal apology to Mr. Rocco. I didn’t think you were the option. I voted for Watford. I made the wrong call. You’re the right guy for us. This whole situation reminds me a lot of the Schaub saga though…

So, thanks for letting me back on the wagon. I’ll see you this weekend and then again in Charlotte!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

