Book Review: Vintage Church

So, I picked up Mark Driscoll (and Gerry Breshears) book Vintage Church the other week Westminister had all their Resurgence books for half off.  I teach an internship class in the Spring on the church and wanted to read a bit more about it, so the book was a good fit.

I’ll say this at the outset.  I like Mark Driscoll.  I know he can be a polarizing figure, but I don’t care.  I really enjoy his writings and don’t mind his personality.  The man knows how to reach men and we could definitely use more men in the church.

Vintage Church, like many of Driscoll’s other books (especially the Vintage ones) is highly pastoral and answers the theological questions on a lower level than other books I’ve read.  I enjoyed his thoroughness throughout the book and their ability to answers the questions that I’m thinking at the end of each chapter is uncanny.  Very impressed.

The most valuable portion of the book to me was the beginning as Driscoll sets out to define who we are in Jesus, and thus who we are as the Church and the people of God.  It’s not that it was the first time I had heard these things, it’s that Driscoll worded them in a very clear way and kind of has his own way of going straight to the point.

I was also struck by the end of the book as Driscoll talks about Church Discipline and technology.  I don’t know that I’ve seen as extensive of a take on church discipline elsewhere, and I really appreciated the Biblical stance that Driscoll takes on church discipline.  His take on technology was surprising and challenging.  It was surprising that it was challenging even though I’m an individual that uses technology more than many in the church.

(sidenote.  Driscoll has three TiVos in his house.  One for his kids and two for him.  He records major television shows and watches them, taking notes to understand where culture is and where his sermons should go in the future.  Absolutely fascinating stuff.  I don’t think I’ll ever do that, but I found it to be a very good example of how to be in the world but still not of it).

I found Driscoll to be of the same theological viewpoint that I am when it came to Baptism and Communion and his answers of whether or not you should be rebaptized affirmed some of things I was feeling (and saying to students…lol).

As expected, I disagreed with his take on women in leadership roles in church.   I didn’t expect to agree with him, but I also didn’t expect that to get a whole chapter in the book..

Also, I think that all Preachers should read his chapter on why preaching is important.  A must read for all who proclaim the word of God.

Overall, I enjoyed the book and found it to be thorough but approachable.  I’m glad I got it half off but I would have paid full price for it.

Anyone else have thoughts on it or have another book on the church they’d recommend?

1 Comment

Filed under Book Review

One response to “Book Review: Vintage Church

  1. Kevin

    I enjoyed Total Church by Timmis.

Leave a Reply

