Winter Break Plans

Above you have a picture of my Winter Break Plans.  We get a full two weeks off in Chi Alpha and then have some time to get ready for the semester before the students get back in January.  I plan on capturing these moments and trying to get some major reading done.  I just started Schaeffer’s The God Who is There and realized it’s probably going to take me longer than I expected (a little denser than I first imagined…lol).  Then I’m looking forward to reading Batterson’s The Circle Maker, Fee’sPaul the Spirit and the People of God, and Metaxes’ Bonhoeffer.

The one book up there I haven’t mentioned is the Live Dead Journal.  I’d like to take some time to tell you about this one.  I, and my wife, challenged our Peer Teams to do the Live Dead Journal over Winter Break.  It’s a 30 day devotional that seeks to give you a heart for the world.  However, it’s more than that too.  It asks you to make much of Jesus in your own personal life, to be a person that makes much of Jesus.  Part of this is to spend extravagant amounts of time with Him through prayer, worship and reading of the Bible.  2.5 hours per day.  Yup that’s right.  2.5 hours per day.  A tithing of your day to Jesus.

I’m pretty pumped about this because I don’t even come close to 2.5 hours most days.  I’d love to have this kick start something in my own heart and my own life as I get a heart for the world and spend extravagant amounts of time with Jesus.

If you’re interested in doing it with us, that would be great!  I’m starting December 19th, a Monday.  Buy a book and get on board.  Let me know if you’re in.

 

And of course, I’ll also be hunting.  Wish me luck!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review, Chi Alpha, Devotional

Leave a Reply

