Advancing the Kingdom

Advancing the Kingdom. A phrase that I heard this past year and have not been able to get out of my mind since then. I don’t think this was the first time I had heard it, and it wasn’t stated in any profound way, but it has stuck with me for a while now.

When Curt Harlow took the position at Bayside he and Kelly commented on their blog that they felt this was the best place for them to advance the kingdom at this stage in their lives. Man, what a beautiful thought and what a beautiful statement.

The Kingdom can be advanced (and should be advanced) everywhere. The kingdom needs to be advanced everywhere. The Kingdom is here and needs to be ushered in by God’s people. This is our task, to advance the Kingdom.

The beautiful thing about it is that it can be done everywhere. I was so struck by d fact that the Harlows said the place where they could best advance the kingdom. they were advancing the Kingdom before, they just found a better groove! I love it.

I’ve been trying to use this terminology in my discipleship relationships since then. Where is the place you can best advance the Kingdom given your unique giftings and talents? Is it in the realm of law and politics, the foreign mission field, grad school, some type of teaching, or any other number of things. Is it in a small town, college town, or a large city? Where do you fit in to best advance the Kingdom?

I’m more and more convinced that this mindset is critical to live the Christian life to the fullest. I’m more and more convinced that people in the so-called marketplace have some of the greatest opportunities to advance the kingdom. And when I say advance the kingdom, I mean way more than just send money around the world. We can advance the kingdom in our lines of work, in our relationships and in many other ways other than just missionaries.

All that to say that missionaries are incredibly important as we advance the kingdom. It’s important to go places that the gospel has never been and continue to tell the story around the globe to people that desperately need to hear it. I just can’t believe that’s the only way for people to be missional.

So, what are your thoughts on advancing the Kingdom? Are there ways for you to work this type of language into your lexicon?

1 Comment

Filed under Chi Alpha, church, random

One response to “Advancing the Kingdom

  1. rosie

    Not gonna lie, when I read the following line “took the position at Bayside he and Kelly commented ” my mind immediately went to thoughts of Saved By The Bell and I wondered how you were going to incorporate a reference into Advancing the Kingdom.

Leave a Reply

