Book Review: Sacred Marriage

I finally sat down and finished Sacred Marriage by Gary Thomas. I’ve meant to read this book a long time ago, like when I got married, but I just never got around to it.

The book was as advertised.

Gary goes into great detail to get his main point across, which is actually the subtitle of the book. What if God designed marriage to make us holy more than to make us happy?

I do believe all of our marriages would do well to understand this statement. We would do well to understand the covenant of marriage instead of the feeling that Hollywood is trying to promote.

Gary does a great job getting these points to come across. He mixes personal stories, other stories, Scripture, the church fathers and popular culture to try and propel us to the idea of marriage as a covenant. I don’t think there is any way for the reader to get bored.

Now, I read the book a couple of years into my marriage and I think that really helped me. A lot of the stories he told, I’ve seen play out in bits and pieces in my own marriage. I think this really helped me to find things to apply to my own marriage. It was a great reminder of domed the promises and some of the dreams I had for our marriage.

I have definitely seen the ugly head of selfishness reign in my own part of my marriage. Sacred Marriage was a great reminder for how easy it can be to be selfish in marriage. I think this is the big takeaway that I have from Sacred Marriage. I want to work harder to serve my wife and my family.

I recommend Sacred Marriage for anyone who is married or is getting close to being married. It’s a great book and a very thorough look at servanthood in marriage. Plus, Gary was a Chi Alpha student at Western Washington.

Also, I got this book from Zondervan to review.

2 Comments

Filed under Book Review

2 responses to “Book Review: Sacred Marriage

  1. Now you have to read Sacred Parenting by Thomas. SOOOOOO good! JP liked it too!

  2. jmoranxa

    i will have to add that to my queue.

Leave a Reply

