Birth Story

So, we had a baby last night. Here’s a little bit of the story from my perspective.

6am Dr. Marotta calls and says induction pushed back to the afternoon. I go back to sleep shortly while I wait for Emma to get up.
730am Right on cue. Emma gets up.
12 Emma goes down for her nap. Dr. calls.
1pm Take the long drive to Martha Jefferson (all of one or two minutes of which I spent talking to R.J. Santucci.
145 Get cup of coffee.
2pm Start the induction process.
215 pm I eat a cherry Popsicle (they’re twin pops but who is counting)
3pm go for a walk. I eat an orange Popsicle and drink two Pepsis.
4pm go for a walk. I eat ice cream and some saltines.
5pm go for a walk. I, surprisingly, pass by the nutrition center.
6pm Dr check, hmmm, we wish we would have been a little further down the line than that. Stay positive. Have a snack from the nutrition center.
7-9 pm is just walking and bouncing on the ball. We missed NCIS. Katie doesn’t seem to care.
9pm Water breaks. #gotime
1037 have baby boy! 9lbs 5oz. 21 inches long.
1137 Nurse holds scissors, answers questions about circumcision, trims the anklet of the baby and asks if I want a trim on mine? I give her the shocked face because I think she’s talking about circumcising me. She just means my identifier bracelet. Crisis averted.
1145 have a snack. Nutri grain bar this time.
1am move rooms.
2am take Levi for his first bath. Play Scramble, Words with Friends, Dice and send work emails as he warms back up under the light.
3am Return to room. Levi eats.
7am wake up when Dr. comes back in.
What? Levi slept through the night? #winning

20120509-082622.jpg

20120509-082715.jpg

2 Comments

Filed under Family, food

2 responses to “Birth Story

  1. Mack Rich

    Bubba!!!

  2. hoogator

    Can’t we get one picture without the hat?

    I’m just kidding. Congrats, man.

Leave a Reply

