Pocket Knife

My pocket knife is part of who I am. I don’t go anywhere without it. Anywhere. I always have it. It’s essential to my being. I even bring it when I wear mesh shorts (which requires some prethinking and creative ideas). I often carry two knives just in case someone wants to borrow one. I don’t like being without a knife.

Part of carrying a knife all the time is that I lose knives all the time. All. The. Time. Either I deposit them at the airport, I let someone borrow it, I misplace it or what happened this week happens.

This week I lost my knife. I don’t know when I lost it I just know it was gone all week. Miserable. I opened a package with a screwdriver because I didn’t have my pocket knife. I cleaned my teeth with a pencil because I didn’t have my pocketknife. I could not be the heroic toy opener that Emma and Levi have come to know me as.* I was generally less awesome this week because I had no pocketknife.

But then, the miraculous happened. I put my hand in my jeans pocket today and there it was. My trusty CRKT pocketknife. All was right in the world again. I was glad I didn’t have to go into the pocketknife market for now….

Do you have anything that is essential to your everyday life?

 

 

 

*editor’s note – I owe this genius of a line to Greg Petitt.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

