Thank You Card Etiquette

Ok, I can’t take it anymore. I have to get clarity on some thank you card etiquette. I must have clarity. I asked my wife and she disagreed with my thoughts. Thus, to the blog we go. What say you, Internet world? What is right and what is wrong?

My question concerns the writing of the thank you card. Not when to write them or what to put in them, but where do you write on the thank you card?

First, I write a lot of thank yous. When you raise money for a living, you have to be quick to write thank yous.

Second, since I go to many many weddings, I get a lot of thank you cards.

As far as I’m concerned, this makes me a thank you card expert.

So, here’s my beef and my question.

Where do you start the thank you card? And where did the idea come from to write on the bottom first and then come back to the top? This makes no sense to me!

I never know where to start reading and where to go next. I don’t know any other medium where you start in the middle of the page and then come back up to the top of the page. I know no other place where this is acceptable, why is it in thank you cards?

I imagine that it started when someone didn’t realize they were gonna need the extra space and it just ballooned from there. Well, I would like to put an end to it! Think before you write and then think about how much space you’ll need. If you need both squares then start at the top like a normal person. If you don’t need both then just use the bottom. If this is confusing I’ve included some pictures below to let you know how to do it.

In my mind, this is acceptable:

20120730-130651.jpg

20120730-130712.jpg

In my mind, this is not:

20120730-130829.jpg

/rant

Any questions or comments?

5 Comments

Filed under organization, random

5 responses to “Thank You Card Etiquette

  1. Diane Murray

    I’m with you on this one, Josh…with the caveat that I think a person should think about how much they want to write…if it’s just a “Thanks for the thoughtful gift, Love Josh”, then bottom half or right half makes sense. If you know you’ve got a lot to say, I’d start it in the top or left side. If I didn’t need the bottom or right side, then at least that’s where you sign your name.

  2. Shannon Ferguson

    I agree with you Josh. Foreplanning is key. I’m so anal that if I didn’t realize ahead of time that I needed both the top and the bottom that I would probably start fresh on a new card and rewrite the whole thing.

  3. I’m so glad to see there is sanity in this world.

  4. Kim Gibson

    I have to agree with you too, buddy. The only additional comment I have is this: if you get caught with too many words (girls) and not enough space and you started on the bottom half of the card, what’s wrong with finishing on the BACK of the card? That makes the most sense to me!

    • Katie Moran

      Kim Gibson I have a card coming your way in the mail as soon as I get to the PO box and you will know who wrote it lol…. Me 🙂 I’m a bottom to top writer haha.

Leave a Reply

