Advancing the Kingdom

20121102-103927.jpg
I’ve been thinking about the Kingdom of God a lot lately. From this I’ve come with more questions than answers. This doesn’t bother me, it actually excites me. I find it refreshing to have a theme in my life that I’m trying to think through and get to really wrestle with. I will admit I only find this refreshing because it hasn’t been a crisis of faith kind of wrestling but more of an academic and what should I do now wrestling.

I hope that this post will be the first in a series. I can’t confirm that, but that’s how it feels right now. I titled this post Advancing the Kingdom. This is a phrase I got from Curt Harlow a couple of years ago when he made the move to Bayside Church.

Advancing the Kingdom. Thats what I want my life to be about. That’s how I want to make decisions in my life. Where I live, what I do, who I do it with, all about advancing the kingdom. It’s that simple but yet that profound.

How can my interactions with everyone in my life advance the kingdom? This is my first question.

When I help someone in a parking lot, when I pick someone up on the side of the road, when I give money to a homeless person, how do I help to advance the kingdom further in that situation? I understand that being generous and charitable, and loving and all that jazz advances the kingdom, but that person doesn’t know that? We live in such a state of altruism (or at least we think we’re altruistic) that they can perceive it as a person just being nice, not as someone advancing the kingdom.

I used to think they would go away and think that God must have put that person in their life, but I’m not convinced this is the case anymore.

I’m also not convinced a simple “God bless” is going to do the trick.

What say you? Have you thought through this? Do you have any tips or phrases or ideas?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Advancing the Kingdom

  1. Josh Wade

    Yo. Let’s talk. I have thought about this. It’s all about being incarnational and committed. And of course I couch it all in already and not yet terminology.

    • Yeah man, when will you be in town again? Also, incarnational kind of sums up my thoughts on this whole thing…I kind of understand the word, but there’s a lot more that I don’t understand about it…

Leave a Reply

