Be More

20121123-182010.jpg
As I’ve told you, I’ve been going through the Live Dead Journal in my devotional life right now. I was particularly struck by the day on “A Learning Heart, A Call To Be More,” in which the phrase that struck in my head was “Be More.”

This phrase pretty much sums up how I’ve been feeling for a long time. The Christian life is about being more for Jesus. That life is bigger than we think it is and there is more that we can do. I don’t mean all of this a type of works righteousness, I just mean if we have the pearl of great price we should act like it! Sell everything we have just to buy the field! An realize we got a steal of a deal!

One of the points the missionary makes is that if he really believes that he will love Jesus more and desire to spend more time with him. For the missionary and for myself this means getting up early. Sacrificing some sleep in order to be able to spend more time with Jesus. How hard could that be?

I thought it might be too hard for the last couple of weeks. I’m pretty exhausted, how much earlier could I get up?

Then hunting season started.

I’ve been getting up well before sunrise to go sit in the woods because I love hunting. Why can’t I do the same for Jesus? Why won’t I do the same for Jesus?

I can and I will change this for the better of my relationship with Jesus because I desire to be more for Him.

Any of you have any days that have particularly stuck out from the Live Dead Journal?

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional

Leave a Reply

