Book Review: Linchpin

In order to finish out my Winter Reading List, I read Seth Godin’s Linchpin on the plane to and from World Mission Summit. Godin is a leadership and marketing guru of sorts. I was excited to read this book because it’s my first exposure to him and it’s outside of the realm of typical books I read.

First, I really really enjoyed this book. A lot. Godin is thought-provoking, in your face, matter of fact, and probably right. He has the years of experience and ability to see the market clearly. I appreciated all of his insights and thoughts.

The premise of Linchpin is that we need indispensable people in the marketplace today. People who are creative, artists as he calls them, and will do whatever it takes to make everything happen. They are people who don’t need to be told what to do, they see the need and they meet it. They meet needs they aren’t asked to meet and they ship, or get stuff done. They are what everyone should want in their workplace. They are what everyone should want to be in their workplace. If you are one of these people, Seth argues that you will get a job and a job that you love. Sounds compelling doesn’t it?

I found it fascinating that Seth argues that school is built to get you a factory job. Old schools were built to get you to work in a factory. New schools are built to get you into new factories (or entry level jobs in cubicles, white collar is the new blue collar). They don’t teach you how to think. They just teach you how to be a monkey. Really revolutionary thought. I can definitely see how this is the case and how I feel like I may have learned more than some of my classmates even though my grade point average was a full point below some of theirs. Oh well.

Godin warns against just doing good enough to be better than the mediocre guy sitting beside you. I found it to be powerful words and a stark juxtaposition to some of the jobs I’ve worked on.

I also loved the section on gifts. And how giving a gift makes you a genius and makes you an artist. When you do something just for the common good and want to get it out without trying to be a cog in the machine, life works betters.

I feel this is the idea behind our Chi Alpha website. Free content, do what you want with it. We don’t need credit, we just want God to be glorified. This is what bothers me about church copyright jank. Just give the stuff away. That’s #winning.

Have you read any of Seth Godin’s stuff? Enjoyed it? Have another recommendation for me?

1 Comment

Filed under Book Review

One response to “Book Review: Linchpin

  1. Pingback: Working Myself Out of a Job | Moran's Musings

Leave a Reply

