Internet Addiction

I posted yesterday about two articles from the Gospel Coalition by Kevin DeYoung. If you didn’t get a chance to read it you can check it out here with the links to the article in there. I said I would make some comments about it later and now I’m ready.

1. I love that Kevin was honest and vulnerable in the post. I think in order for change to be able to happen someone is going to have to step up like Kevin did and hope to be able to speak to the issue from a place of weakness.

2. This quote really cut me to the heart.

I’ve noticed the same thing happening to me for the past few years. Unless I’m really in a groove, I can’t seem to work for more than twenty minutes without getting the urge to check my email, glance at a blog, or get caught up on Twitter. It’s a terrible feeling.

I feel that and have felt that for a while. I don’t know that I’ve always noticed that it’s a bad thing, but I have been growing in my awareness of this. Whenever I work near a laptop, I have to check everything constantly. I don’t even realize it’s what I’m doing. I just do it to do it.

3. Addicted to hyperlinks is another point that stuck out to me. I find myself looking something up and then being caught on the hyperlink trail for who knows how long. It takes too long to get back on track then I would care to admit.

4. I say all of this and I don’t even have wifi internet at home. Seriously. I still feel addicted to the internet even though I can’t get on it on a computer at home. I think I have taken some steps to try and limit my use on my phone at home but it’s still a little bit more difficult than I wish it was.

5. Finally, his last point of never being alone. This one is really tough. I want to be alone. I long for that time. But when I get up in the morning, I do find myself checking email first thing. Checking to see if I had any texts from the night before. Or just generally seeing what’s going on in the internet world.

What are your thoughts on all this? Have any practical tips?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

