My Summer Reading List

Things work better with a plan. Well, at least when it comes to a summer reading list. Every May when the students head into finals, I head to the internets to make my plan for summer reading. It helps me to make a plan from the outset so I have something to stick to. Below you’ll find my list, comment and let’s me know if you feel like something should change or something should be added!

Love Does by Bob Goff
– I’ve heard a couple of interviews with Bob and have been very impressed. I think this book will spur on to make a big deal of people more than I currently do.

The Lost World of Genesis One by John Walton
– This one is required for INCITE, our Northeast Chi Alpha staff development conference. I’m really excited it about it and looking forward to the opportunity to interact with John at Valley Forge.

The Catalyst Leader by Brad Lomenick
– This is the one I’m reading now. I enjoy the Catalyst movement, so I jumped at the chance to see a bit behind the scenes.

Creature of the Word by Matt Chandler
– In case you didn’t know, I have a bit of a man crush on Matt Chandler. This is his latest offering.

Engaging God’s World by Cornelius Plantinga
– This one I bought a couple of years ago and have never read. I think it will be a bit harder and a bit more academic, but I hope to be up to the challenge. I have no idea what the premise of the book is.

Systematic Theology by Millard Erickson
– I like to read a Systematic Theology a summer to keep the internship classes fresh in my mind and see if there is anything I would want other teachers to add to their class or see if we would make a change for our textbook in the CMIT program.

15 Invaluable Laws of Growth by John Maxwell
-This is our staff read for the summer. I haven’t read much of Maxwell, though I’ve read much of those who were directly influenced by Maxwell. Looking forward to it.

I would love to add a missionary biography, which one would you recommend?

Anything else you think I need to add?

2 Comments

Filed under Book Review, discipleship, Leadership, organization

2 responses to “My Summer Reading List

  1. Josiah Batten

    “Mission to the Headhunters” by Frank and Marie Drown is a good missionary biography. The Drowns were friends with Nate Saint, Jim Elliot, and company.

Leave a Reply

