My Week Without a Phone

Yes, you read that correctly. I went a week without my iPhone. Ok, well kinda. And no. No, it wasn’t on purpose.

Heroically, I sacrificed my iPhone to save my Father’s boat from being run into by another boat. Heroically, my dad found my iPhone at the bottom of the lake.

It just didn’t completely work. I did the bag of rice thing. I gained functionality back just without the screen. Siri could call people for me, and text people for me (I just wouldn’t know if what I texted was correct), and read texts to me. So, I went like that for 8 days hoping the phone would come back to life. Then, one morning I came into the office and whammy, the screen worked! It was a miracle! My phone was fixed! 

Turns out, that was a fluke, and when the screen started working, everything else stopped. And then the screen stopped. So, I went down to peachmac and got a new phone. They replaced it for 200 bucks, which I thought was a pretty good deal.

 

I learned a couple of things about my use of the iPhone during this time though.

 

1.  It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. We don’t have internet at home so the iPhone has become the only way for me to interact on the internet at home. I didn’t miss it as much as I thought I would. 

2. I couldn’t go without the internet at home during the school year. It would drive me nuts not having access to my email. I am not saying I am uber important and have a lot of things I have to reply to, I’m just saying I couldn’t go without checking my email at least once a night or so. 

3. Social media continued without me. I know, I can’t believe it either. But my facebook and twitter feeds continued without me. The world kept turning and I really didn’t miss that much. I hope this is a lesson I learn.

4. I really missed texting people. I don’t know if this is a good thing or a bad thing or a neutral thing. Texting has become a major way for me to communicate and I missed being able to do that. 

5. I use my phone a lot. I found myself constantly looking for my phone even when I had left it at the office. And I felt a bit naked when I didn’t have it with me. It was freeing and weird all at the same time.

 

Have you ever gone without a phone on purpose or accident? What did you learn?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

