Book Review: Ragamuffin Gospel

I got a ecopy of the Ragamuffin Gospel by Brennan Manning to review from Thomas Nelson. Sadly, I never read any of Brennan’s material before he passed this year, but I have heard a lot about his writing. So, I thought I would pick up a copy and see what I thought.

Honestly, it was much better than I thought it would be. I would liken it to the book Jesus Is by Judah Smith or Love Does by Bob Goff. If you think you’re too advanced for “the basics,” then you won’t enjoy this book.

But, if you think you’re a ragamuffin, if you’re someone who is in need of radical, unadulterated grace, then this book is for you. In it, Brennan tells great stories (reminds me a lot of Yancey in his books) and intimate personal details of his own life. I found myself drawn in to the book and unable to put it down. (This was helped by the fact that my family was out of town and there was no internet or cable where I was living and I was out of candy crush lives). 

His definition of grace is extravagant and it’s telling. If you want to learn more about God’s grace and about who we are as Christians and don’t think you’re too advanced, I’d say check this book out!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

