The Problem of Evil

I’ve lived a good life. Had anything and everything my heart could long for (other than a Silverado, but that’s cuz my brother stole it). 

I have tasted loss but not like others. 

I’ve gotten the short end of the stick a time or two. But not like others. 

But that doesn’t mean that the problem of evil, of suffering, of wrong, isn’t a question that I often think about.

Image

Why God? Did you create evil? Do you allow evil? Is it your idea? Was it your idea? Are we being punished? Do we deserve to be punished? 

I. Just. Don’t. Understand.

I read about war, famine, disease, rape, murder, lying, cheating, manipulation on a daily basis.

Where is God in all of this?

That’s why I’m excited that we’re partnering with the Center for Christian Study tomorrow night to host John Stackhouse on this very issue. His lecture is entitled “The Best Reason to Reject God: And Honest Look at the Problem of Evil.” He’ll be speaking to college students and townspeople in Old Cabell Hall on Monday Night from 8-930

I can’t wait. 

What about you? Have you ever thought about this issue? Ever wondered about evil? If you’re in town, feel free to stop by tomorrow night, it’s a free lecture and I’d love to see you.

I’ll try to get my thoughts up post lecture and I’m sure there will be an audio recording barring any unforeseen circumstances.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “The Problem of Evil

  1. will you post the audio here? I would love to hear it if possible.

  2. Not a thief

    Ha, it’s not stealing if I bought it fair and square

  3. Hey man! I can’t wait to read your upcoming post and listen to the lecture!

Leave a Reply

