Book Review: Crazy Busy

Crazy Busy by Kevin DeYoung is a book I’ve long had on my to read list but I’ve never been able to get around to it. Ironic, huh?

Kevin admits that being crazy busy is not something that he’s immune to, and something that he deals with just as much, or more, than the rest of us living specifically in America. Busyness is something I’ve often thought of, but never been able to have the clarity brought to the subject that Kevin brought. I’m glad I read this book.

The book opens with an anecdotal story that peers into my soul a little more than I wish it did. Kevin writes about a woman who moves to America and begins to introduce herself as “Busy.” When asked why, she says that it’s because that’s how everyone else introduces themselves and she thought it was part of the normal American greeting. “Hello, I’m busy.”

#conviction.

I’m introduced myself that way more times than I’m willing to admit. I define my life by my busyness more often than I care to think about. And instead of being a host of other things, I often default to “busy” because it’s the working American status symbol of choice. And it’s wrong.

Kevin, rightfully, points out that busyness will ruin our joy, will rob our hearts, and will cover up the rot in our souls. Those are some serious things, and things that I don’t want happening in my life. I can see glimpses of these in my own life as I try and use busyness to cover up these problems. What about you, do you see these in your life?

After the three dangers, Kevin spends the rest of the book talking about seven diagnoses of why you might be busy. You may relate to all of them, you may relate to some of them, you may relate to only one of them. He’s just trying to identify seven different reasons why people are busy and let that define them. I’ll list the chapter headings here to help you if you wanted to read the book.

  1. You are Beset with Many Manifestations of Pride
  2. You are Trying to Do What God Does Not Expect You to Do
  3. You Can’t Serve Others without Setting Priorities
  4. You Need to Stop Freaking Out About Your Kids
  5. You are Letting the Screen Strangle Your Soul
  6. You’d Better Rest Yourself before You Wreck Yourself
  7. You Suffer More because You Don’t Expect to Suffer at All

And there you have it. Maybe one of those jumped out at you, maybe it didn’t. But they were all poignant and powerful and very helpful for me as I read the book.

I would recommend you check out Kevin’s blog posts on letting the screen strangle your soul. Part 1 is here. Part 2 is here. I know there are many things that I need to work into my habits and life after reading that. The book chapter expounds on those ideas a little more than the two articles.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this book to someone who is busy. To someone who wants to no longer be busy and wants to be set free to live the life that Jesus has for them. That’s how Kevin ends the book. Reminding us to love Jesus more and allow the things of the world to fade away a little at a time.

Hello, I’m Josh.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

