Dat Summer List Doe

I finally got around to putting together my summer reading list. The last few years I’ve posted my summer list partially to inspire others, but mostly to have some built in accountability for myself. A big part of being spiritually disciplined for me is turning off the TV, putting away the internets and just reading. Contemplating and reading.

So, here’s my list.

Built to Last by Collins. How can companies (and ministries) be built so they withstand the test of time?

Jesus, Paul, and the People of God. I’m afraid this book might be a little over my head. But, I’ll give it a go anyways.

Foxe’s Book of Martyrs. I’ve gone too long without reading this book.

Habitudes, Chi Alpha Edition by Elmore and Herman. My boy, Blane, does the best job promoting this one.

Alone Together, Why We Expect More From Technology And Less From Each Other by Turkle. I can’t remember who recommended this book. It hits a felt need I have in my own life and my ministry life. I’m also considering an internship class on media and technology.

Shallows, What The Internet is Doing to Our Brains by Carr. See above. I believe he won a Pulitzer for this book.

Preaching, Maybe It Is Rocket Science by Jim Bradford. I love Jim Bradford and have appreciated getting to know him more this year. This is a short book that should provide a lot of tips for preaching, an area I have a lot of room for growth.

Christian Theology by Erickson. Erickson came out with a new addition last year and I have wanted to read him for a while. Why not now?

Think Like A Freak by Levitt and Dubner. Just released this month!

So, what’s your list? What do you think of mine?

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

