Grace and Truth

One of the more powerful truths, in my mind,  in the gospel according to John is that not only did grace and truth come from Jesus Christ (1:17) but He was full of grace and truth (1:14). I’ve often found myself trying to gauge my relationships by that phrase. Would anyone say that I am full of grace AND truth?

I think there are some relationships I’m more grace heavy. I let sin slide so as not to offend, I try not to rock the boat, it’s all grace, baby!

Then there are other relationships that I’m more truth heavy. I heap law on unsuspecting friends because we can do better or we’re almost there. 

And still there are seasons where I swing the pendulum back and forth in all of my relationships. I guess that’s going to be how it goes. I’m not the second part of the Godhead nor the Messiah, so I won’t be full of grace and truth. I just want to grow in both of those areas and represent Christ well in all of my relationships.

I find it incredible that the woman at the well in John 4, though she’s had all her life laid out in front of her (come see a man who told me everything I ever did v29) and some of it in a pretty awkward way, still believes that Jesus has something powerful for her. Still believes that grace can change lives and wants to share it with the whole town that has probably shunned her. Then encounter with Jesus changed her, and I believe it was partly because He was full of grace and truth.

Oh, to grow in both of those areas!

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Leadership

Leave a Reply

